PE ISUChancellor: Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund

Prof. Dr. Ehrenfreund studied astronomy and microbiology in Austria, obtained a PhD in astrophysics in France and a master’s degree in management in USA, hence can clearly be considered as a true internationalist. She has been both professor in astrobiology at Dutch Universities as well as professor in space policy at the George Washington University in USA. As a scientist she was involved in several astrobiology experiments as Principal Investigator, but also in space policy work, such as chairing the COSPAR Panel on Exploration, PEX. After being chair of the Austrian Science Fund, she was nominated in 2015 as Chair of the Executive Board at DLR, the German Aerospace Center, being the first woman ever leading the Agency.

The Board of Trustees is elected by the Governing Membership of the International Space University.  The Board of Trustees determines ISU's overall objectives and oversees the University's affairs.

Dr. Christian Sallaberger, Chairman

Institutional Members:

ASI - Italian Space Agency (Gabriella Arrigo), CSA - Canadian Space Agency (Martin Hebert), CASC - China Aerospace Science and Technology Corporation (Jie Yuan), CNES - Centre National d'Etudes Spatiales (Christophe Venet), DLR - German Aerospace Center (Nicolas Peter), ESA - European Space Agency (Hugo Maree), Heinlein Prize Trust (Buckner Hightower), Inmarsat (Ramin Khadem), Isle of man Government (Martyn Perkins), Israel Space Agency (Ofer Lapid), JAXA - Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (Norimitsu Kamimori), NASA - National Aeronautics and Space Administration (Tom Cremins), Alumni Representative (Julio Aprea).

Corporate Members:

Airbus Defence and Space (Alain Wagner), Boeing (John Shannon), Canadensys Aerospace (Christian Sallaberger), Lockheed Martin (Randall Sweet), Manx Precision Optics Ltd. (Helmut Kessler), Odyssey Space Research (Brian Rishikof), SES (Romain Bausch), The Aerospace Corporation (Angie Bukley).

Individual Members:

Andrew Browne, Michael Davis, Art Dula, Siamak Khorram, Johannes Ortner, Robert Richards (Founder), Pete Worden.

It shall be the duty and responsibility of the Board of Advisors to advise and consult with the Board of Trustees, officers and administration, and faculty on such matters as they may seek such guidance and counsel.

Mr. Buzz Aldrin, NASA Astronaut (ret.), Chairman

Mr. George W. S. Abbey, Rice University
Prof. Oleg Alifanov, Moscow Aviation Institute
Prof. Ali Al-Mashat, Director, Arabsat (ret.)
Mr. Marcio N. Barbosa, UNESCO (ret.)
Mr. Pierre Betin, SNECMA (ret.)
Dr. Roger Bonnet, International Space Science Institute
Dr. Peter H. Diamandis, ISU Co-Founder, X-Prize
Prof. Dr. Hansjörg Dittus, DLR
Dr. Roland Doré, past President ISU
Mr. Jay Honeycutt, Lockheed Martin  (ret.)
Dr. Nandasiri Jasentuliyana, United Nations (ret.)
Dr. Krishnaswamy Kasturirangan, Indian Space Research Organization
Mr. Jean-Yves LeGall, CNES
Prof. Reimar Lüst, Max Planck Institute for Meteorology
Mr. Michael Potter, Paradigm Ventures
Mr. Lon Rains, Northrop Grumman
Dr. U. R. Rao, Indian Space Research Organization (+)
Mr. Ken Reightler, US Naval Academy
Mr. Christopher Stott, ManSat
Mr. Keiji Tachikawa, JAXA
Mr. Eric Tilenius, Tilenius Ventures
Ms. Barbara Wood

The ISU Academic Council is responsible for ensuring the academic quality of the teaching and research activities of ISU. The Council has created a set of policies and standards for the faculty within the overall guidelines established by the Board of Trustees and in cooperation with the President of the University. The role, rules, and processes of the Academic Council are provided in Appendix A of the ISU Academic Handbook, which can be downloaded here.

To ensure integration of policies between the Academic Advisory Committee of the BOT and the Executive Officers of ISU, the AAC Chair as well as the President of ISU and the Academic Officers (the Dean, Associate Dean and the Program Directors) are permanent invitees to the Academic Council. The Academic Council is represented on the Board of Trustees and the BOT Academic Advisory Committee. The current members of the Academic Council are listed below.


Carol Carnett (USA), Chair of the Academic Council, Legal Aid Bureau Inc., USA
Angie Bukley (USA), Co-Chair of the Academic Council, The Aerospace Corporation, USA

Eric Dahlstrom (USA), International Space Consultants, New Zealand
Volker Damann (Germany), International Space University, France
Gary Martin (USA), Senior Advisor, Ministry of the Economy, Luxembourg
Maria Antonietta Perino (Italy), Thales Alenia Space, Italy
Lucy Stojak (Canada), HEC Montréal, Canada
Su-Yin Tan (Canada), University of Waterloo, Canada
Olga Zhdanovich (Russia), MODIS, Netherlands



ISU Academic Handbook v3.1 - Download Here


The CARE makes recommendations on all issues regarding appointment, performance, evaluation, and advancement of Resident Faculty members and title assignment at recruitment. It also makes recommendations on the appointment or dismissal, performance, evaluation, and titles of ISU Faculty.

The Dean, the Chair of the Academic Council, and the Chair of the Academic Advisory Committee of the Board of Trustees jointly nominate the Chair of CARE. The Chair is appointed for a period of three years by the President of ISU and reports to the President of ISU.

This Committee is established by the Dean and includes members selected from the Faculty of ISU who hold the rank of Full Professor and individuals from external organizations who hold the rank of Full Professor or the equivalent. Members of CARE should be internationally known individuals highly regarded within their discipline.

Resident ISU Full Professors are de facto members of this Committee. In order to provide continuity with academic committees of the university, the Chairs of the Academic Council and the Academic Advisory Committee of the Board of Trustees will be ex-officio (non-voting) members, if not already members in their own right.

The Committee shall consist of at least 7 (seven) and not more than 11 (eleven) members. The members of this Committee serve for three years. This mandate can be renewed for one additional term. CARE membership is reviewed annually.

The Chair of the CARE may invite other members to join the Committee on an ad hoc basis for their particular expertise.

The current membership of the CARE is reflected in the list below.

CARE Membership Roster

Giovanni Fazio, Harvard University, USA (Chair)
Angie Bukley, The Aerospace Corporation, USA (Vice-Chair)

Patrick Cohendet, HEC Montréal, Canada
Gerhard Haerendel, Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics, Germany
Siamak Khorram, UC Berkeley, USA
Vern Singhroy, Canada Centre for Remote Sensing, Canada
Kazuya Yoshida, Tohoku University, Japan